College of Communication > About > College News > 2020 News Archive > DePaul PRAD Students Take First Place in PRSSA's Bateman Competition

DePaul PRAD Students Take First Place in PRSSA's Bateman Competition

A first-time win for DePaul University in the 2020 Bateman Case Study Competition

Audrey Nelson and Adriana Talavera table at a census event in Humboldt Park
DePaul students Audrey Nelson and Adriana Talavera table for their census campaign at an event hosted by the alderman in Humboldt Park, featured on the 10 o'clock Univision news. (Photo by The "A" Team, Winter Quarter 2020)
College of Communication students recently claimed first place in the 2020 Bateman Competition, PRSSA’s premier national case study competition for public relations students. This is the first time DePaul has received first place in the competition.

PRSSA headquarters received 57 entries from students at universities across the country. Of those 57 entries, 14 received an honorable mention and three advanced to the final round to present their campaigns to a panel of judges. The final three teams included students from DePaul University, the University of Florida, and High Point University.

Campaigning for the 2020 Census

The Bateman Case Study Competition challenges students to execute a comprehensive public relations campaign, with this year’s focus on the 2020 Census. Through tactics such as social media, on-campus tabling, media outreach, and partnerships with university and government leaders, students’ campaigns aimed to educate members of their community about the importance of the census and motivate them to participate in the count. Read more about DePaul students' campaigns for the 2020 Bateman Competition.

“We’re bursting with pride over this latest achievement by our PRAD students,” said Alexandra Murphy, acting dean of the College of Communication. “The coveted Bateman Competition award complements other recognitions our program has received over the past three years, including PRWeek’s Outstanding Education Program and the Page Society’s Jack Koten Case Study grand prize. Congratulations to the students and their devoted faculty.”

2020 Bateman Competition Winners

  • First Place: DePaul University — The “A” Team (Abby Barbeau, Annie Evans, Aleeza Mehtab, Audrey Nelson and Adriana Talavera)
  • Second Place: University of Florida
  • Third Place: High Point University

Honorable Mentions

  • Ashland University
  • Belmont University
  • DePaul University — A Sense of Us (Callie Boboc, Natalie Rohman, Lauren Russett, Stephanie Robertson and Maddie Torti)
  • Eastern Illinois University — Eastern Elite
  • Kent State — Bateman Gold
  • Loyola University New Orleans
  • Miami University
  • Ohio University
  • Syracuse University
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • University of Nevada Reno — Battle Born Bateman
  • University of Oregon
  • University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
  • Washington State University

Also see: