College of Communication > About > Centers & Initiatives > Center for Journalism Integrity & Excellence > Lectures & Events > Annual Center Awards > 2023 Center Awards

2023 Center for Journalism Integrity & Excellene Awards

​​​​​​The Center for Journalism Integrity & Excellence held their annual award ceremony and luncheon at the Union League Club on April 27, 2023.​ Center co-directors Carol Marin and Don Moseley presented journalist Judy Woodruff with the 2023 Distinguished Journalist Award and journalist Sally Ramirez with the 2023 Distinguished Alumna Award.

Award Ceremony Photo Gallery

Judy Woodruff Award Ceremony Speech

​Best known for her years anchoring the “PBS NewsHour," Judy Woodruff was honored with the Distinguished Journalist Award from DePaul University's Center for Journalism Integrity & Excellence.​ "Judy Woodruff inspires. She is living proof that journalism is about the story, not the storyteller," Center Co-Director Carol Marin says. “It's about the facts which can be slippery as mercury. It's about the fairness." Woodruff is currently editor and correspondent for her upcoming project "Judy Woodruff Presents: America at a Crossroads." Watch her award acceptance speech below.​

Sally Ramirez Award Ceremony Speech

​​Sally Ramirez, a 1989 alumna and most recently executive producer of the CNBC show "The News with Shepard Smith" received the Distinguished Alumni Award. In her more than 30-year career, Ramirez has established herself as a newsroom leader. "Sally Ramirez's impressive career centers on great journalism and solid storytelling," says Center Co-Director Don Moseley. Ramirez returns to Chicago as Senior Vice President of News for NBC Chicago and Telemundo Chicago. Watch her acceptance speech below.

​​Previous recipients of the Distinguished Journalist Award are 60 Minutes correspondent Bill Whitaker; Chicago news anchor Ron Magers; Lester Holt of "NBC Nightly News;" Jane Pauley of "CBS Sunday Morning;" and Dean Baquet of The New York Times. Previous recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award are KARE-TV reporter Heidi Wigdahl; Jeremy Gorner of the Chicago Tribune; Ben Welsh of the Los Angeles Times; Ann Pistone of ABC7 Chicago and Lourdes Duarte of WGN-TV.

Adapted from DePaul Newsroom​

In Memoriam

Newton Minow
Soon after the award ceremony, we were saddened to learn of the passing of esteemed lawyer and former FCC chairman Newton Minow. Minow was a beloved friend and mentor to the Center for Journalism Integrity & Excellence. In 2022, the Center honored Minow with the inaugural Distinguished Mentor Award in recognition of his years of service and dedication. He will be missed by all. 
Watch WTTW Tribute: Center Co-Director Carol Marin and panalest  honor Minow in this 5/8/23 episode of "Chicago Tonight."