College of Communication > About > Initiatives > Center for Journalism Integrity & Excellence > Lectures & Events > Annual Center Awards

Annual Center Awards

Each year, the Center for Journalism Integrity & Excellence honors two journalists—one being a DePaul graduate—whose work embodies the highest principles of journalism, including truth, accuracy, fairness and context.

Both awards are typically presented each spring. Award recipients speak at the award luncheon and also meet Advanced Reporting students to share their experiences as journalists.

2019 Award Recipients

Dean Baquet & Lourdes Duarte

Dean Baquet and Lourdes Duarte

Dean Baquet, executive editor of The New York Times, and WGN-TV news anchor Lourdes Duarte will receive awards from the Center for Journalism Integrity & Excellence at an invitation-only event on April 25, 2019.

Dean Baquet’s long career as a journalist has included several years with the Chicago Tribune, where he led a team that won a Pulitzer Prize for documenting corruption in the Chicago City Council. Lourdes Duarte, who graduated from DePaul with a bachelor’s degree in communication, is one of WGN’s top investigative reporters. Read press release

Past Award Recipients