College of Communication > About > College News > 2016 News Archive > SPJ Honors DePaulia Students

SPJ Honors DePaulia Students

The Society of Professional Journalists recently honored DePaul journalism students with awards and scholarships.

Student staff for The DePaulia, DePaul’s student newspaper, were awarded a top-3 national finish in two categories in the 2015 Mark of Excellence Awards presented by SPJ.

The DePaulia staff was a finalist in best all-around non-daily student newspaper. Editors Matthew Paras, Kirsten Onsgard and Mariah Woelfel also were finalists in online sports reporting for their work on “More than a decade of drought: The last DePaul team to make the NCAA tournament”.

The two awards are the first national Mark of Excellence honors in The DePaulia’s history.

Also, DePaulia News Editor Jessica Villagomez was awarded the $3,000 Les Brownlee Scholarship for Chicago-area journalism students at the SPJ Chicago Headline Club’s Peter Lisagor Awards dinner May 6.

Villagomez follows DePaulia Print Managing Editor Megan Deppen, who won the scholarship last year.

DePaul journalism students also were finalists in three categories in the Lisagor Awards​, including best feature in a non-daily newspaper by DePaulia staff members senior Shelley Mesch and junior Rachel Hinton.